Spit Happens

Okay…forgive the dorky title, but it seems to appropriately sum up a disturbing trend in which I’ve recently noticed a huge increase–public spitting. I’m not sure why this gags me out so much, but it does. It seems that everywhere I go anymore, there are dots of spit [and that is politely speaking] mucking up the sidewalks, parking lots, etc. And it’s a disgusting habit that crosses all demographics. In fact, when Marc and I were at the Starbucks on the Circle the other day, I looked out just in time to see a businessman clad in a classy suit walk by and hock a big one right onto the sidewalk. Don’t these people know better? I mean, I’m certain that my mother would be quite mortified if she saw me pull something like that. But it doesn’t seem to stop anyone.

One time, Marc was minding his own business walking back to his office after lunch. As he passed a woman on the sidewalk, she decided to spit on the ground and missed–instead it landed on Marc’s arm. I can’t remember what she said to him, but I do remember that it wasn’t, “I’m sorry.” Due to complete mortification, I don’t think that he gave much of a response, which makes him a much better person than I. I’m not sure how the law is written in Indiana, but in most states, spitting on someone is actually considered assault or battery. In Terre Haute, Indiana, it is illegal to spit on the sidewalk. Maybe I’ll start lobbying for that here.

If you are a sidewalk spitter, I apologize if I’ve offended you–but it’s gross, so stop it.

Leave a Reply

