Happy Birthday to You, Stevie!

Fifty-six years ago today, (oops!…did I reveal a secret?) the world got a little more exciting thanks to the arrival of Steven Michael Young. Steve has been my father, my friend, and a partner-in-crime, so I’d like to take a moment to honor him today, on his birthday, with a list of reasons why he’s so great!

  1. He always gives a hug when you first walk in the door for a visit.
  2. He let me talk him into getting a dog that he said he didn’t want and then ended up with two of them.
  3. He sometimes (grudgingly) eats at Jamie’s Soda Fountain so we can hang out when I visit Kokomo, even though he doesn’t like the food.
  4. He loves Thai food as much as I do.
  5. He tells a great story about a pet Chicken his brother and cousins tricked him into throwing down the hole of an outhouse to prove that it was better than their pets.
  6. He writes the nicest notes inside of birthday cards and sometimes even makes them himself.
  7. He stays the night in Indianapolis with me when Marc is away so I won’t be scared.
  8. He pretends that Barkley isn’t as poorly behaved as I say he is.
  9. He enjoys singing along to Wasted on the Way, just like me.
  10. He gave me the sweetest advice before giving me away to Marc at our wedding…can’t tell you, it’s a secret!

This is obviously just the tip of the iceberg, but I wanted to share a few tidbits of why Stevie is so important to my life. Happy Birthday, Steve — And here’s to many more!

4 responses to “Happy Birthday to You, Stevie!

  1. Look at my daughter! Who could dream of more love and caring from a child?

    My daughter Karen, walked into my life and left her footprints on my heart. She moves our souls to dance. When she and Marc come “home” there is always music, conversation and lots of love. The ambience changes when she enters a space. Some people make the sky more beautiful to gaze upon. That’s Karen.

    So, this birthday, I chose to celebrate the life we have and the people places and things that inspire us to care. There is no greater gift to a parent than to know your children understand that we exist temporarily through what we take, but we live forever through what we give. My children are givers. Karen and I have many special memories and times, she described some of our acts and roles very well.

    So did CSNY:

    Look around me
    I can see my life before me
    Running rings around the way
    It used to be
    I am older now
    I have more than what I wanted
    But I wish that I had started
    Long before I did
    And there’s so much time to make up
    Everywhere you turn
    Time we have wasted on the way
    So much water moving
    Underneath the bridge
    Let the water come and carry us away

    I’ll see you guys tonight. Let the water come and carry us away.

  2. Awww, you’ll make me cry. 🙂 Thank you for the sweet words…

  3. It made me tear up, too, Karen!

    I think the thing I loved most on your list was that he stays with you when Marc is away. I can totally appreciate that since I, too, am scared to stay by myself. You two seem to have such a wonderful relationship and I appreciate you sharing these thoughts with us today. Have fun at the birthday celebration!

  4. Okay consider me choked up. HB, Steve! Also, Steve is the only person I know who worked and hob-nobbed with Robert Kennedy.

Leave a Reply

