Bone Chillin’

Okay, so I normally wouldn’t post about the weather in an effort not to appear completely lame. After multiple days of excruciatingly frigid temperatures, however, I feel compelled to at least vent on the subject. Unless you just returned from your vacation to Mars, I’m sure you’re well aware that the Midwest is currently plagued by an insufferable “cold snap.” At least that’s what the meteorologist calls it — I prefer to call it a “cold smack you upside the face.” For those of you who aren’t familiar, this is the kind of cold that takes your breath away as soon as you walk outside. The kind that sends our Labrador Retriever (who was bred for swimming in icy waters, mind you) darting for the door immediately upon finishing his potty business. The kind that literally chills your bones even when you’ve taken appropriate precautions to avoid such offenses from Mr. Jack Frost.

Yesterday, on my drive into work, the weather forecaster on NPR came across the airwaves giving the grim weather report. “Currently in Indianapolis, we have temperatures at 1 degree; no, I’m sorry, that’s negative 1 degree. Wind chill — negative 15.” This morning, it warmed up to a balmy 3 degrees, and we’re inching towards a scorching high of 18 degrees, which will actually feel like 9 when you factor in the wind. I’m not trying to be a major complainer, because I choose to live here, but days like these start to make me wonder why?.

Just the other night, Marc asked, “Why am I so tired?” I told him that it’s probably because all of his energy goes towards steering him clear of hypothermia. Perhaps in all of this, though,there is something redeeming. Admittedly, I now have a greater appreciation for warm coats, functioning furnaces, excellent car heaters, and my snuggly goose down blanket. But I’m still a little sore about all of the road salt on my shoes, my frozen appendages, and this newly formed head cold that just can’t decide if it wants to come or go. When it boils down, I guess that I have only one thing to say, “Punxsutawney Phil, your little groundhog bootie better be right!”

2 responses to “Bone Chillin’

  1. I have a very gross term for this kind of weather, but it pretty much sums it up. I call it “booger freezing weather”. I hope it’s over soon, I hate it!

  2. This the Arkansas’s equivalent of 100+ temperatures. What is shocking is that I don’t even think twice anymore about taking 10 minutes to get bundled up to go anywhere near the front door.

Leave a Reply

