Ate A Slice of Wonder Bread

So why the strange title? It’s a line from a song that made it onto my top seven songs of the moment list—brought on by my being “tagged” by Melissa at Banana Migraine. The idea is that now I have to list my top seven songs of this very moment. That’s kind of hard, because I tend to listen to lots of different music, but I’ll try to come up with seven good ones for you all.

  1. Samson by Regina Spektor on Begin to Hope. I’m not sure what gets me about this song, because some of the lyrics are a little silly, but it gets me. Something about her voice on this song is haunting. Admittedly, I’ve put this song on repeat play before…for several, several times in a row. Marc will vouch for that.
  2. Nan You’re a Window Shopper by Lily Allen on Alright, Still. I heard the NPR commentary on Lily Allen awhile back and finally had to buy the CD at Border’s while on my lunch break a month or so ago. It just keeps growing on Marc and me. Another favorite off of the album will be my #3…
  3. Alfie by Lily Allen on Alright, Still.
  4. How to Save a Life by The Fray on How to Save a Life. Again, can’t really put my finger on it, but I like it.
  5. Fair by Remy Zero on Villa Elaine. Heard this song first on the Garden State soundtrack, but I lu-huv it! I even put it on the Dentist Mix play list on my nano, which means that it must be good.
  6. River by Joni Mitchell on Blue. What’s not to love about this song? Another that I have no problem listening to over, and over again.
  7. Experiment by Mates of State on Team Boo. Marc and I fell in love with these guys a few years back…of course, we are still kicking ourselves for not going to see them live in Bloomington when they were there. I think they are the inspiration for Marc’s dream to start a traveling band…just me and him.  (Unfortunately, the link is to a short clip of the song, which cuts off before the best part.  They’re definitely worth checking out a disk from the library, or you can visit their website at www.matesofstate.com.)

Well…there’s my seven.  Hopefully you’ll enjoy them as much as I do!

4 responses to “Ate A Slice of Wonder Bread

  1. Thank God I have you to refine my taste in music.

  2. I LOVE Lily Allen! I think my favorite is “Everything’s Just Wonderful”. Her songs are pretty amazing, I never thought I’d be singing along about a hole in a colostomy bag.

  3. I’m so glad you did this – I loved reading your list! That Garden State soundtrack is a good one isn’t it? It introduced me to some great tunes!

  4. Ditto, Melissa, on Garden State.

    Did you hear Mates of State as Ira Glass’s live musical guest on This American Life’s “What I learned from TV” episode a couple weeks back? They added a very nice touch to an already great show. You can download it as a free podcast from itunes if you missed it.

Leave a Reply

