Lil’ Bow Wow Eats Fresh

Marc has a propensity for running into celebrities. He once had a beer with George Wendt (Norm from Cheers) in London after a performance of Art (we have photographic proof). He once got dissed by MCA of the Beastie Boys for wearing socks with sandals on a subway in NYC. And then there’s the time he crossed paths with Carson Daly and Jennifer Love Hewitt after leaving a bar called S’mores in New York. (Yes, Marc informs me that they, indeed, brought out their namesake dessert when you ordered drinks…a bar after my own heart). So my husband is basically a celebrity sighting magnet, and today was no exception.

I was laid up this morning with a bad RA flare, and Marc was extra sweet to come directly home after class to help me with some cooking obligations that I had for the afternoon. We decided that it would be best to have him pick up some lunch on the way home. Subway won out as an obvious choice, because (a) it was close, and (b) it was healthy. So I gave Marc my order over the phone and started to get myself cleaned up. A substantial amount of time passed before I heard from him again when he called to tell me that it had been a little chaotic with just one “sandwich artist” on duty during the lunch rush. Then he went on to tell me about how there were three guys in front of him in line who were cracking him up. As he relayed the story, they were all three wearing backstage passes, and he kept thinking to himself that the one young man in particular looked especially familiar. He kept trying to place his face, while the three guys carried on and goofed off in front of him. At one point, the younger guy said something along the lines of, “Man, I hope I don’t screw up like I did last night in Cincinnati…I almost yelled out the wrong city!” (I’m picturing that commercial where the guy says, “It’s good to be back in Detroit!” which is met with boos from the audience since he is obviously not in Detroit.) One of the other members of his entourage proclaimed, “Don’t worry about it…just say Naptown.” Throughout the rest of his stay in the lunch line, Marc enjoyed being entertained by the fellas in front of him.

As Marc left the Subway and headed towards home, he passed the Murat and noticed that the marquee announcing tonight’s concert read “Bow Wow.” That’s when he called me to announce with 99% certainty that he had just shared breathing space in downtown Indianapolis with a rap star. Once Marc got home, he hopped online just to confirm his celebrity spotting and was pleased to see that it was in fact Mr. Bow Wow who was in front of him in line. We also checked his schedule to determine if he was, indeed, in Cincinnati last night…he was. So Marc gets to put yet another notch in his superstar sighting belt….Me?…I’m just glad to know that Bow Wow “Eats Fresh.”

3 responses to “Lil’ Bow Wow Eats Fresh

  1. If Marc meets Dolly Parton before I do, I will seriously have to reevaluate our friendship. If, however, he meets her when I’m with him, we’ll be BFF.

  2. I better start following Marc around more often – I want to see some celebrities! 🙂

Leave a Reply

