Like Two Donuts…

At Broadway, the end of each service always reminds me a little of the final wrap of an SNL episode. You know, when the host comes back out, lets everyone know that it’s been a great show, and then waves farewell as the rest of the cast and crew meander around the set while ambling music drifts over from the band. If you go to Broadway (or have visited), you can probably understand what I mean. Chris plays the postlude, and those folks who don’t head out right away to fulfill their Sunday plans often stay in the pews chatting it up with their fellow “remainders.” Personally, I think that it’s during this time that some of the best conversations happen. And to top it off, almost everyone claps when Chris finishes the song—a gesture I especially enjoy, since we’re not much of a clapping church (not that there’s anything wrong with that, I suppose).

So after the service today, Marc and I were standing around in the side aisle—Marc talking with Jeffrey and his friend Grant, while I caught up with Troy. Due to my location, which physically planted me right in the middle of the two conversations going on at that second, I suddenly heard out of my left ear Marc laughing and saying, “Yeah…like two donuts at a pitch-in!” I quickly glanced sideways. “What in the world,” I thought. I noticed that Jeffrey looked confused, too, at the humor Marc found in his statement. Marc laughed and said again, “Like two donuts at a pitch-in, right? Isn’t that what you said?” Jeffrey thought for a second and then said, “NO! I said, ‘If there’s too much you have to pitch it!” The five of us cracked up when we realized Marc’s auditory mistake, but then we thought about it for a minute…what a great saying! For awhile, we bounced it around, determining what exactly such a phrase could mean. I told Troy that I thought it would describe the “well-suitedness” of two objects for one another. Kind of like two peas in a pod. Can’t you hear it? Marc and Karen….they’re just like two donuts in a pitch-in. But then I concluded that it didn’t make much sense that way. Marc had a totally different interpretation and explained that it should actually be used to describe something that wouldn’t really be missed. As when someone says that they need another cookie like they need another hole in their head. Regardless, I think Troy hit the nail on the head when he said that it was definitely a term that needs to be introduced into the vernacular.

So here is my charge to you, dear readers: Help us come up with a legitimate and viable definition for our new phrase! Like Two Donuts at a Pitch-in… Whatever could it mean? I can’t wait to find out!

donuts2.jpg

13 responses to “Like Two Donuts…

  1. Karen, my friend Biff (visiting from Chicago) and I were sitting here discussing your blog and the invitation you offered. So, our interpretation arrived at with much verbal and wrangling and near fisticuffs was that the expression would be best suited for something that was so appreciated that it wouldn’t last long (especially if young people are at the front of the line). I hope this helps.

  2. I love it! Never even thought about it that way, but that’s completely appropriate!

  3. “Alberto Gonzales is gonna last about as long as two donuts at a pitch-in.”

  4. To me, “like two donuts at a pitch-in” carries an air of mystery. As in, “What’s wrong with those two donuts that they’ve not been eaten yet…?” Quite the Rorschach, this one. I’ll keep my thinking cap on.

    It reminds me of reading last year that young people had started adopting the phrase “Snakes on a Plane” to mean, existentially, “*shrug* What are you gonna do?” or “Hmmmm. C’est la vie.” To wit:

    Guy #1, irate: Dude, you just ran into my SUV!

    Guy #2, thoughtfully: Snakes on a plane, man. Snakes on a plane.

  5. Couldn’t it also refer to a feeling of technically being welcome but maybe still just a little out of place?

    “Man, I felt like two donuts at a pitch-in at that Promise Keepers Convention.”

  6. The meaning is quite simple, Grasshopper. It has to do with everyone, no matter how misfit or insignifcant they may feel, doing what they can to make the end result wonderful.

    Or in the words of the great American philosopher, Ernest P. Worrell: You gotta give your fair share, Vern, because if you don’t pitch in your part and I don’t pitch in my part, these poor people won’t have a part to pitch in.

  7. Gosh, I might have to put this one up to a vote. So many great options…it’s like trying to pick between two donuts at a pitch in. 😉 (*joke*)

  8. I agree with Mike and his friends interpretation of the saying. I don’t think the donuts would last long at a pitch in. That is to assume that one means a breakfast pitch in. Were it a pot luck dinner or pitch-in lunch,if you will, then the donuts might last longer as most guests would have moved on to equally sweet, but more “late in the day” appropriate forms of sugar satiation, i.e. chocolate chip cookies, pies, or cakes. Ya see what I mean?

  9. Heck those are two delicious, good looking donuts. Who cares if they are at a pitch in…..I’d just eat them where ever they were. Of course my thoughts are far out in left field. I’m not a deep thinker tonight.

  10. I know….Those donuts do look extra scrumptious!! Almost like Krispy Kremes with Chocolate AND sprinkles. It doesn’t get much better than that!

  11. I don’t know, but I hope Broadway remains clap-free.

    (And while I’m in my old-fashioned-stick-in-the-mud ways, I insist it’s spelled doughnut!)

  12. Pingback: Meandering Mango Gets a Holy Shout Out « Meandering Mango

  13. Jeffery M. Perkins

    I am reminded of the parable in which the women gave ALL she had in constrast to others giving from their great wealth.

    What is the purpose or the intent of the giving? Sometimes when I don’t bring anything to a pitchin, I can offer my service in the form of washing the dishes and emptying the trash.

    God can take a person’s fractional response and bring about a sense of wholeness. However, I would not attempt to do the math/!

Leave a Reply

